The Potter's Hand

Author(s): A. N. Wilson

Literary Fiction

This is A. N. Wilson's first novel for five years that tells the epic story of the Wedgwood dynasty. In 1774, Josiah Wedgwood, master craftsman possessed with a burning scientific vision, embarks upon the thousand piece Frog Service for Catherine the Great. Josiah's nephew Tom journeys to America to buy clay from the Cherokee for this exquisite china. Tom is caught up in the American rebellion, and falls for a Cherokee woman who will come to play a crucial role in Josiah's late, great creation: the Portland Vase. As the family fortune is made, and Josiah's entrepreneurial brilliance creates an empire that will endure for generations, it is his daughter Sukey, future mother of Charles Darwin, who bears clear-eyed witness. A novel of epic scope, rich in warmth, intellect and humanity, "The Potter's Hand" explores the lives and loves of one of Britain's greatest families, whose travails are both ordinary - births, deaths, marriages, opium addiction, depression - and utterly extraordinary. It is suitable for readers of Rose Tremain, A. S. Byatt's "Possession" and "The Children's Book", Hilary Mantel's "Wolf Hall" and Jenny Uglow's "The Lunar Men".


Product Information

A. N. Wilson was born in 1950 and educated at Rugby and New College, Oxford. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, he holds a prominent position in the world of literature and journalism. He is a prolific and awarding-winning biographer and celebrated novelist. His most recent novel, Winnie and Wolf, was longlisted for the 2007 Man Booker Prize. He lives in North London.

General Fields

  • : 9781848879522
  • : Atlantic Books, Limited
  • : Atlantic Books
  • : July 2012
  • : 210mm X 148mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : A. N. Wilson
  • : Paperback
  • : Export and Airside ed
  • : English
  • : very good
  • : 496