Things in Jars - A Novel

Author(s): Jess Kidd

Hardback fiction

In this "miraculous and thrilling" (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child. Bridie Devine--flame-haired, pipe-smoking detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing secrets about her past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot-tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, Things in Jars is a stunning, "richly woven tapestry of fantasy, folklore, and history" (Booklist, starred review) that explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781982121280
  • : Atria Books
  • : Atria Books
  • : 0.544311
  • : February 2020
  • : 1.3 Inches X 6 Inches X 9 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jess Kidd
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : near fine
  • : 384