Under A Pole Star

Author: Stef Penney
Homepage 9781786481177

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $12.00(NZD)
  • : 9781786481177
  • : Quercus
  • : Quercus
  • :
  • : 0.8
  • : November 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • : Stef Penney
  • :
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • :
  • : en
  • : very good
  • : 596
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9781786481177
9781786481177

Local Description

Name on half title

Description

Sometimes you have to travel to the farthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it...A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Kristin Hannah, Sarah Perry, and Barbara Kingsolver A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve. Years later, in 1892, determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland as a scientist at the head of a British expedition, defying the expectations of those who believe a woman has no place in that harsh world.Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition. Jakob and Flora's paths cross. It is a fateful meeting, where passion and ambition collide and an irresistible attraction is born. The violent extremes of the north obsess them both: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows, and the strange, maddening pull it exerts on the people trying to make their mark on its vast expanses - a pursuit of glory whose outcome will reverberate for years to come.