Augustus

Author(s): John Williams

Popular Fiction

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs. A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power--Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony--young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781400076734
  • : Vintage International
  • : Vintage International
  • : November 2004
  • : .68 Inches X 5.2 Inches X 7.98 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : John Williams
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : very good
  • : 317