The Silence Beyond: Selected Writings by Michael King

Author(s): Michael King; Rachael King (ed.)

New Zealand

The late Michael King was one of New Zealand's most respected and popular historians. The author of the bestselling The Penguin History of New Zealand and many significant works otherwise, he was a writer of remarkable skill, sensitivity and importance. The Silence Beyond is a wide-ranging and often personal collection of King's writings, many unpublished before.

Edited and introduced by his daughter, Rachael King, The Silence Beyond is a timely and fitting tribute to one of New Zealand's greatest modern thinkers.

Product Information

Rachael King is the daughter of Michael King. She was born in Hamilton in 1970 when her father worked at the Waikato Times. Rachael has published numerous articles, short stories and two novels: The Sound of Butterflies (2006, winner of the Montana NZSA Hubert Church Best First Book Award for Fiction), and Magpie Hall (2009). She currently lives in Christchurch with her husband and two children.

General Fields

  • : 9780143565567
  • : Penguin Books
  • : Penguin Books
  • : June 2011
  • : 230mm X 152mm
  • : New Zealand
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Michael King; Rachael King (ed.)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1st Edition
  • : good
  • : 240