Soon

Author(s): Charlotte Grimshaw

New Zealand Literature

During the long summer holiday, the Lampton and Hallwright families gather in a large beach house belonging to Prime Minister David Hallwright and his wife Roza. The weather is perfect and outwardly all is well, but tension is brewing underneath the surface.


There is an unusual bond uniting the two families — one that forced their meeting and sustains their relationship. And one that threatens to destroy it. You see, the Lamptons and Hallwrights share something, but it’s something neither family is willing to give up. As the vacation progresses, it becomes increasingly clear that there are some important secrets that need to be kept quiet; secrets that could ruin them all if they became public; and secrets that might impinge their moral sensibilities . . .



In Soon, Charlotte Grimshaw takes readers on a journey through the world of privilege, power, and politics, exposing the dark side of human nature. This is an exhilarating and thought-provoking novel, in the vein of The Dinner and Gone Girl, that questions how far people will go to protect themselves and all they hold dear.


Product Information

Charlotte Grimshaw is the author of four critically acclaimed novels, Provocation, Guilt, Foreign City and The Night Book. In 2000 she was awarded the Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship. She has been a double finalist and prizewinner in the Sunday Star-Times short story competition, and in 2006 she won the BNZ Katherine Mansfield Award. In 2007 she won a Book Council Six Pack prize. Her story collection Opportunity was short listed for the 2007 Frank O'Connor International Prize, and, in 2008, Opportunity won New Zealand's premier Montana award for fiction, along with the Montana medal. She was also the 2008 Montana Book Reviewer of the year. Her story collection, Singularity was short listed for the 2009 Frank O'Connor International Prize and the South East Asia and Pacific section of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize. She writes a monthly column in Metro magazine, for which she won a 2009 Qantas Media Award. She lives in Auckland.

General Fields

  • : 9781869799984
  • : Random House New Zealand
  • : Vintage
  • : October 2012
  • : 234 x 154 mm
  • : New Zealand
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 1st Edition
  • : Very Good
  • : 312
  • : Charlotte Grimshaw
  • : Paperback