Katherine Mansfield: The Collected Stories

Author(s): Katherine Mansfield

New Zealand Fiction

Katherine Mansfield's clear, sparkling and perceptive short stories revolutionised the genre, and this collection represents the whole range of her writing.

Moving, resonant, full of light and colour, they range from short sharp studies to longer, richer tales, encompassing her three major volumes, Bliss, The Garden Party and In a German Pension, and fifteen tantalizing fragments of unfinished stories published after her tragic death, including 'Honesty', an intriguing tale of two bachelors, and 'The Doves' Nest', an exquisite story of a widowed mother and her daughter in the Riviera who receive a mysterious gentleman caller. Graceful, delicate and quietly devastating, they observe apparently trivial incidents to create sensitive, often painful revelation of her characters' inner lives.

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780141183688
  • : Penguin Books
  • : Penguin Books
  • : January 2001
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Katherine Mansfield
  • : Paperback
  • : very good
  • : 779