Miss Webster and Cherif

Author(s): Patricia Duncker

Literary Fiction

Elizabeth Webster is a spinster pushing seventy. Forced out of her teaching job, she unleashes her sharp tongue and dogmatic opinions on everyone in the English village of Little Blessington. Then, one night, she grinds to a dead halt. To recover from this illness, she travels to North Africa where she has a brush with terrorism - not that she cares about politics. Three weeks after Miss Webster has returned home her doorbell rings. There stands a beautiful young Arab man carrying a large suitcase. Who is he, why is he there and what does he want?


Product Information

A intelligent, stylish page-turner. For fans of Ali Smith, A.L Kennedy, Julian Barnes and Justin Cartwright's The Promise of Happiness A book about old-lady-power. For fans of Miss Marple mysteries, Driving Miss Daisy and Guarding Tess Shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize 2007 - Best Book (Europe and South Asia region)

Patricia Duncker is the author of the novels Hallucinating Foucault (winner of the Dillons First Fiction Award and the McKitterick Prize in 1996), The Deadly Space Between, James Miranda Barry and Miss Webster and Cherif. She has also written two books of short stories, Monsieur Shoushana's Lemon Trees and Seven Tales of Sex and Death, and a collection of essays on writing and contemporary literature, Writing on the Wall. Patricia Duncker is Professor of Contemporary Literature at the University of Manchester.

General Fields

  • : 9780747585909
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : May 2007
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Patricia Duncker
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition
  • : English
  • : very good
  • : 256