The New Great Game : Blood and Oil in Central Asia

Author(s): Lutz Kleveman

History

A fearless, insightful, and exacting portrait of the battle for oil, and the international struggle for wealth and power in the new century.

In the tradition of The Prize, Lutz Kleveman gives us the twenty-first-century chapter on the history, passion, and politics of oil and gas resources, and the struggle to control them in a critical part of the world.
Using the concept of the 'Great Game' that Rudyard Kipling immortalized in his novel Kim, Kleveman argues that there is now a new Great Game in the region, a modern variant of the nineteenth-century clash of imperial ambitions of Great Britain and Tsarist Russia. Traveling thousands of miles, from Turkmenistan (where statues of the country


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781843541219
  • : Atlantic Books
  • : Atlantic Books
  • : January 2004
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lutz Kleveman
  • : Paperback
  • : 0
  • : very good
  • : 283