Dragonskin Slippers

Author(s): Jessica Day George

Fiction

Fifteen-year-old Creel is floored when her aunt suggests they sacrifice her to a dragon to attract the attention of a marriageable knight. But when the dragon appears, Creel bargains for her life - and ends up with an unusual pair of blue slippers. It's not until the slippers are stolen by a princess that Creel learns a terrible truth: the slippers are made from the hide of a dragon queen, and enable the wearer to control all the dragons in the land. Now, under the command of the princess, who is eager to start a war, the dragons begin to attack the city. Creel must join forces with the king's son and others to break the slippers' hold before the princess and the dragons destroy the city - or before the king's archers kill the dragons - whichever comes first.


Product Information

A rich, funny, and beautifully realised story that combines all the action and drama of modern day storytelling with the detail and charm of a fairy tale of old. For fans of Cornelia Funke's Dragon Rider and Christopher Paolini's Eragon, here's a dragon fantasy from a fresh new talent.

Jessica Day George lives in Utah in the USA. She counts Robin McKinley and Ursula Leguin among her favourite authors and influences. This is her first book.

General Fields

  • : 9780747587187
  • : Bloomsbury
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • : June 2007
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jessica Day George
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : good
  • : 336